The Light Within

Brooklyn based singer/songwriter Jared Saltiel just released his debut full-length album, The Light Within. The singer/songwriter label, however, doesn’t quite cut it for Saltiel’s music, which is more abstract and impressionistic than it is confessional. His songs tell complex stories filled with word play and fantastical imagery. The sophisticated lyrics are matched with equally sophisticated music. He blends together lush orchestral arrangements and shifting harmonic landscapes with a more traditional blues and folk sensibility, adding up to a kind of rhapsodic blues-pop. (However ridiculous that description may be, it’s what I keep coming back to whenever I think about Saltiel’s music.)

Stream: Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories Album

Daft Punk

What are you waiting for? Head over to iTunes now! You’ll be able to preview Daft Punk’s 13 tracks a full eight days before the album’s official release next week. Head to iTunes to listen now.

Random Access Memories tracklist:
01 Give Life Back to Music
02 The Game of Love
03 Giorgio by Moroder
04 Within
05 Instant Crush
06 Lose Yourself to Dance
07 Touch
08 Get Lucky
09 Beyond
10 Motherboard
11 Fragments of Time
12 Doin’ It Right
13 Contact


Alt-J – An Awesome Wave

2012 was a great year for the UK. Between hosting the Olympics and the Queen’s Jubilee, British music outdid itself and really shone through while all eyes were on our little island. Alt-J’s debut album An Awesome Wave is an example of the UK’s indie scene innovating and advancing, with ‘Breezeblocks’ being one of the biggest tracks of the year.

Alt-J took the UK by storm last year by touring the festival circuit in the summer, including Reading/Leeds festival (Where I was lucky enough to catch a glimpse of them!). They have recently announced a UK and North American

Free Download: Glimpse Trio EP

Glimpse Trio

San Leandro band Glimpse Trio reminds us all how powerful and dynamic a rock trio can be. On their self-released EP, the band covers everything from frenzied Zappa-esque fusion tracks to bluesey acoustic rock songs. That they do this while always sounding like themselves is no small feat. Guitarist Mike Sopko, Bassist Chris Lopes, and Drummer Hamir Atwal all have such distinct playing styles that they can’t help but sound like themselves whether they’re playing the raucous punk track Holiday or the post-rock textures of Cogan (Song For

Thieves– Achiever

From the opening bars of Thieves’ newest record Achiever, you know you’re in for something special. The Pop-Punk world has found itself in an interesting position in the past few years. Commercially, the genre has completely moved out of fashion, and after a few years of trying to keep up with the changing times, Pop-Punkers have now found that they prefer the spotlight off of them, giving them the freedom to write the music how it should be, just like it was back in the heyday of

EP: Nolita View Release Self-Titled EP

We brought you Nolita View a long time ago back when they were called ‘Fez.’. I considered their “Low Light” track a must-insert-into-playlist tune.

Previously, I thought they had a little hint of Phoenix going on, but I think they have a great mix of guitar melody and vocals for a unique style of their own.

Here’s what they had to say about their new name:

The name ‘Nolita View’ was taken from a song by the National called ‘Driver, Surprise me’. The character in this song is feeling quite numb and in need of

Free Download: The Dooryard- ‘Please Remind Me…’

A collaboration between two New York-based songwriters Mark Wudtke (The Bearing) and Joe Endozo (Radial, Rotten Jazz Quartet), The Dooryard showcases the duo’s strong songwriting and distinct vocals in a Folk/Rock setting. What sets ‘Please Remind Me…‘ apart from other Folk albums today is that the songwriters allow their other influences to enter throughout the album. Mark’s vocals still sound like his Pop-Punk songs from The Bearing and Joe brings in the blues elements from Rotten Jazz Quartet as well as his electronica of Radial, using the Folk