The 2013 shortlist for the Barclaycard Mercury Prize UK album of the year has finally been released, and there are some great names up there.

The shortlist is as follows:

Arctic Monkeys ‘AM’

David Bowie ‘The Next Day’

Disclosure ‘Settle’

Foals ‘Holy Fire’

Jake Bugg ‘Jake Bugg’

James Blake ‘Overgrown’

Jon Hopkins ‘Immunity’

Laura Marling ‘Once I Was An Eagle’

Laura Mvula ‘Sing To The Moon’

Rudimental ‘Home’

Savages ‘Silence Yourself’

Villagers ‘Awayland’

Last year’s winners were Alt-J with their revolutionary album An Awesome Wave (read my review of the album here).  The Mercury Prize aims to draw attention

Another tune from the Arctic Monkeys’ forthcoming album, Suck It and See, has hit the waves and it sounds pretty much amazing. There’s nothing better than a peak of the upbeat indie-pop displayed in “Reckless Serenade” that got the band famous in the first place.

I feel like I won’t be getting this track out of my head for a while. Suck It And See comes out on June 7th, so make sure you cop it and jam with us.